Thawed Out Thursday: Stuffed Green Pepper Soup – CrockPot Style

So this week has been rough.  I have been extremely sick with a virus and the shingles.  I haven’t been able to get up off the couch for the most part.  I have spent more time with my eyes closed the last three days than with them open, and I have enjoyed a lot of popsicles and tv.

Andrew has been in charge of most of the meals this week, but yesterday I went to see the doctor and got some medicine for my ick, and stopped by the grocery store.  I knew I wanted soup, because it is the ultimate comfort food, and I had been thinking about my mom’s stuffed green peppers all week so I thought I would give this one a try.

Here are a few things I learned:

1. Rice gets mushy when cooked to long, and in this recipe I am not sure if that was suppose to happen or not.

2.  I think I cooked mine on the wrong temperature, but I am not extremely sure (sickness makes you forget)

3.  I forgot how much I love my crockpot.

4. This meal is really simple and easy to make even if you are sick. I loved it.

Andrew gave this meal and 6.7 but he wants everyone to know if would have scored higher had it not had any green peppers in it. Without peppers he says it would have easily been a 7.2

Ingredients  

1lb lean ground beef

1 cup onion

14 1/2 oz can diced tomatoes with roasted garlic and onions

2 green peppers/red peppers/or a mix of the two chopped

15 oz can tomato sauce

3 cups beef broth

dried basil, oregano, salt, pepper, to taste (I also added garlic because I love garlic)

1 cup cooked rice

Instructions

Brown beef and onions, drain

Add everything to your crockpot juice and all

cook for 6-8 hours on low.

Ps.  If you don’t like soggy rice add it later.


I really liked this meal and I thought it tasted just like the stuffed peppers I remembered.  Andrew said it needed some spice to it, but he also puts hot sauce on EVERYTHING.  In the end it is a simple and easy meal for any night of the week.  It made me feel a lot better after a very sick and extremely stressful beginning of the week.  I hope you give it a try!

Have you tried this recipe before? Did you like it? What do you want me to try next?

I would love to hear from you in the comment section below.

IMG_0065

4 thoughts on “Thawed Out Thursday: Stuffed Green Pepper Soup – CrockPot Style

    1. You have got to invest in a bigger one! I love mine! I love the ability to tell it when to turn off instead of leaving it on all day! This soup was really great though to satisfy your stuffed pepper need!

      Like

Leave a Reply

